ELOY — With the first annual Santa Cruz New Year’s Shootout now in the books, some players are receiving recognition from tournament planner, and Santa Cruz Valley basketball coach George Courtney.

The All-Tournament first and second teams recognize the individual performances of some of the participants. A spot on the second team has been awarded to Florence's Brandon Farley, who's averaging 17.5 points per game, to go along with 1.9  blocks and 4.1 rebounds a game.

Members of the All-Tournament first and second teams from the Santa Cruz New Year’s Shootout are listed below:


Marcus Coleman (SR, Tucson Pueblo)

First Team

Garrett Jones (SR, Queen Creek Benjamin Franklin)

Kelvin Briggs (SR, Tucson Palo Verde)

Lex Clontz (FR, Phoenix Cesar Chavez)

Justice Torres (SR, Phoenix Cesar Chavez)

Isaiah Hill (SO, Tucson Pueblo)

Second Team

Anthony Valenzuela (SR, Tucson Palo Verde)

Kris Floyd (SR, Phoenix NFL Yet Academy)

Joaquin Anaya (JR, Yuma Kofa)

Josiah Hollmon (FR, Phoenix Shadow Mountain)

Brandon Farley (JR, Florence)


David Church is a reporter covering Eloy, Arizona City and sports. He can be reached at dchurch@pinalcentral.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.